Sunshine Blogger Award Nomination

Hi guys! I’m glad to announce that I was nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award. I really apologize to my awesome nominator avathenerd for getting to this so late. Recently, the also amazing remyfool also nominated me for it recently as well. Thank you so much to both of you.

Everyone else: please check out both of their blogs! Ava has many insights about both books and anime, and is currently tackling the 30 day anime challenge and doing some other book challenges that are super interesting. Remy’s blog is focused on yuri, and is currently following multiple series episode-by-episode, and doing some series reviews/game reviews in between. He and Nanaya have been doing a back-and-forth with me on the Magical Girl Raising Project series recently, and it’s been really fun!

sunshineblogger

The Rules:

– Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
– Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
– Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write then 11 new questions.
– List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

I had spurts of downtime over the past week and decided to answer all of your questions this time around. Thank you to both of you again. I’ll do the rest of the award as per usual.

Avathenerd’s questions

nodame

How long have you been blogging and how is the experience so far?

I’ve been blogging for about a month now. I personally think I took on too many series this season with 3. But at the same time, I feel that in the past, I haven’t engaged with the anime community as much as I am now. It was mainly because I was really hesitant to post anything about myself, even opinions on series. So far, this has really helped me break out of my shell and it’s been an incredible romp. Thanks, guys!

That said, I want to write more editorials, more series reviews, and more experimental posts like the Magical Girl Raising Project reactions post I just did. Those things I feel generally fluctuate a lot less than episode-by-episode reviews and/or are more enjoyable to write. I think I’m getting a little redundant in some of my normal episode-by-episode reviews and try to avoid that, but end up doing it anyway.

What is your favorite thing about blogging?

Talking to people and meeting people. Your comments and responses really mean a lot to me. Knowing that you take a bit of your time to read my posts really means a lot to me.

What are your favorite things in life? (There can be many)

Writing! Longer, wordy, and beautiful prose. Super concise and clear sentences! The whole shebang. I think with good writing you can hear the music no matter what.

I also like good food.

Which food do you loathe and why?

Hmmm. I don’t like burned food or overly spiced food. I’m okay with most foods, I think. If I think of something more, I’ll let you know!

Who is your favorite character from a book/anime/movie/TV series ?

Nodame from Nodame Cantabile. I feel that she is the most relatable character in the world for me—not that I’m a piano genius, but just her personality. If I ever do that 30-day anime challenge that’s been going around, I’ll talk more about it.

Cats or dogs?

Dogs!

What is your dream destination? (Can be fictional)

Ummm…a nice little town that’s near a big city and good public transportation, and not so cold when at its coldest but not so hot when at its hottest. Somewhere like that :).

Which language do you like the most?

Italian. I really adore the language. I think it sounds so musical and just flows in the ear. Before deciding what language to take in college for fun, I listened to a lot of Disney songs in different languages to figure out what I wanted to take. The Italian version of “Just Around the Riverbend” was what got me.

Which is the longest book/anime/TV series you’ve read/watched and how long is it?

Um. Hm. Probably the Dragon Ball or Sailor Moon series, now that I think about it. DBZ is 291 and the entirety of Sailor Moon is 200, which I hadn’t been expecting.

Which is your all time favorite/ evergreen song to listen to?

“Natsukage” from Air. I played it in middle school, and I play it now.

Your favorite fairy tale?

“The Happy Prince” by Oscar Wilde. But I haven’t read fairy tales in a long, long while so I’m not sure.

Remyfool’s questions

bowlofrice.jpeg

Coffee or tea?

Tea. I feel that coffee makes me super hyper and I just can’t.

Pasta or rice?

Rice for the most part. But sometimes I just want pasta.

Would you rather be an idealist or a pragmatic person (wow, such good questions! Seriously, I’ll try harder but this is painful at 2 AM)?

I’d rather be pragmatic so that I don’t have overly unrealistic expectations, but I know that irl I’m much more idealist.

Would you rather kiss a unrequited crush on the lips or be allowed to slap someone you hate a single time with no retaliation?

Someone I hate. No regrets.

(Sorry, that sounded vindictive! I don’t have an unrequited crush right now, but I do have someone that’s just unbearable hahahaha.)

Say you are suddenly are in charge of pressing the button that gives a lethal injection to a criminal. Do you press the button or do you live the rest of your life with the Monster Mash song stuck in your head?

Ugh. I think I’d rather stick with the song…and maybe give that lethal injection to myself.

Could you eat 50 McDonald’s Chicken McNuggets in one sitting?

No. I think my record is 20-30.

How do you feel about Thanksgiving stuffing (okay, too many food questions. They are now banned)?

I feel that I don’t really like it in general, but have started to like it. I think it depends on the stuffing. I like eating it separate.

Would you rather be average at everything, or be peerless at one very specific thing but horribly subpar at everything else?

I think I’d rather be able to do some things than just one super very specific thing. What if that specific thing was blowing bubbles? Actually, that’d be pretty cool.

What’s your favorite season of the year?

I think spring! It’s not too hot and it’s bright and fresh and dewy where I live.

What’s the most disappointing anime you’ve ever watched?

Hmmm. This is a tough one for me. I’m going to say Elfen Lied. It’s been years since I saw it, but I remember thinking the back stories weren’t very memorable while I wanted to see more of Lucy.

How do you feel about rainy days?

I like them when it’s at night and I’m at home and nothing is leaking and it’s not really a thunderstorm, but not otherwise!

I’d like to nominate the following bloggers for this award. My apologies if you’ve already been nominated, and please don’t feel obligated to make a post.

  1. Another Gaming Day
  2. Fujinsei
  3. Anima & Anime
  4. Little Anime Blog
  5. Anime Girls NYC
  6. JAPANime Talks
  7. Otaku Lounge
  8. 100WordAnime
  9. Weekend Otaku
  10. Anime Vortex Blog
  11. Josei Next Door

My questions 

  1. Do you like to collect anything (coins, stamps, etc.)?
  2. Favorite dessert?
  3. If you could make any book series into an anime that hasn’t already, what would it be?
  4. Green tea or black tea?
  5. If you’re running late for work/school and you grab one thing for breakfast, what would it be?
  6. Ironed clothes or no?
  7. What’s it like outside right now?
  8. If you could make a music box version of any song, which song would it be and why?
  9. What catchphrase would you use to describe your life?
  10. Do you have any writing advice for budding bloggers?
  11. If you could make a knitted version of any character, who would that character be and why?

 

16 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award Nomination

  1. remyfool says:

    Yay! Congratulations! I feel silly for nominating you after avathenerd did, though.

    Even though you feel like you bit off more than you can chew in regards to reviewing shows on an episode basis, I think it’s apparent that you put a lot of time and care into each post. They’re always detailed and interesting. I like how you’re experimenting with new post formats, too. Keep being bold!

    I’m glad that the blogging community has been so welcoming! And wow, Italian! Are you trilingual, by any chance?

    I used to say stuffing was my favorite food, but I only really had it separately. Big plates of the stuff at Home Town Buffet when I was younger. Maybe I wouldn’t like it as much if I ate it together with the bird.

    Being a champion bubble blower sounds pretty neat. Imagine being able to blow bubbles that are all the same size over and over, or making huge bubbles, or making funnily shaped bubbles!

    You surprised me while I was typing this by liking my series review, haha. If this was a handwritten note you’d notice that the handwriting just flies off the page at a particular point, oops!

    You have a good point about spring. No darn heat waves during that time of year.

    Thanks for answering my silly questions as well as avathenerd’s questions!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alane says:

      It’s okay! You didn’t know xD and also have a lot of folks to keep track of. And haha, thanks for reading.

      Me too! I really like everyone. Thanks for always chatting :).

      No, sorry! I dabbled in a bunch of languages before, but forgot most of what I learned. I am fluent in English but can understand Tagalog. So sad.

      Ohhhhh. I want that kind of stuffing. So my aunt used to make her own stuffing, then I’d prefer one you could make out of a box and felt bad.

      Good idea. I could make a bubble Bubble Bobble!!! Sorry just thought of that (and I have to make more)

      Hahahaha. I did see an email notification on my phone like RIGHT after I closed my browser on the computer, but I didn’t see what it was and went and nommed. Nice imagery

      No problem. I was finding reasons to procrastinate.

      Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        Haha thanks. It’s my pleasure to read your posts!
        What a great community! At least here on WordPress from what I’ve seen. Some people get heated over series, unfortunately. And you’re welcome c:
        Aww that’s too bad. But hey, that’s still impressive. Maybe you could pick em back up sometime in the future.
        That’s tough. Instant stuff is like a hurdle cooks and chefs have to overcome. ;__; I actually wouldn’t be surprised if Hometown Buffet was serving us instant stuffing.
        Yeaaah that’s what I’m talking about! (Ohh, do share pics again).
        Haha thanks. I always think of weird scenarios. What’d you eat?
        A pro at procrastinating huh?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Alane says:

        Haha ya I think the heat is always ugh but understandable. Booo.

        I got this frozen karaage from a market the other day and have been microwaving it to produce tasty but non-crispy (ironically not so soggy) chicken. Also leftover wonton soup. I need to improve my instant stuff, haha. Sry, will try to appreciate some homemade stuff more

        I don’t think you can pro-ve any more right

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        The heaaat ;___;
        No, it sounds like you are no mere amateur when it comes to handling instant food. You are the Microwave Master~
        (Well, at least you can consistently avoided the soggy pitfall trap. Can’t do anything about the lack of crunchiness, though)
        Well, I like to think both homemade meals and instant food has their merits. Just eat what you like and be happy!
        I think you win this one haha! I’m stumpedd

        Liked by 1 person

      • remyfool says:

        That’s the spirit haha. Keep at it! I just went and messed up instant mapo tofu by adding 12 oz of ground beef when I was only supposed to add 2. Then again the instant sauce wasn’t very good. Hmmm. Well, we’ll become master chefs eventually!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. avathenerd says:

    Thanks for the mention! I really enjoyed reading your answers.
    Your comments mean a lot to me too!
    Writing is a great hobby!
    Italian is a nice choice.
    You should try out the anime challenge as well. It’s really fun and I’m curious about your answers.
    Remyfool had some very interesting questions and your answers to them were just as interesting haha.
    Thanks again! Also, your award is well deserved 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alane says:

      Thank you for reading!

      It does sound fun and I always like reading your answers. I think I’m doing the challenge some time after this anime season. The plan right now is one series next season + other content. Or something like that.

      Thank you for the nomination 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

