3 Month Anniversary, 50+ Followers, and Plans for the Coming Season

bubblebobblecake

Hoozaw!

Happy New Year, everyone! I had a fuse-bead Bubble Bobble all planned out for this, but left my supplies at work ;_; (I was making them in my spare time! I promise I’m a hard worker!).

WARNING: Long post! 

Thank You!

Since I’ll be traveling tomorrow, this post is a day early. Tomorrow will be three months to the day I published my episode 1 review of Magical Girl Raising Project, which I consider as the point I really started this blog. Thanks to each and every one of you for coming to read and/or comment. I wouldn’t have made it to this milestone without you guys.

A Bit of History

I started Bobble Anime primarily because I really love writing, but wanted to see if I could keep to a schedule instead of doing it maybe once every so often. I was/still am playing with the idea of a career that involves a lot of writing. Blogging was a way to test that, and blogging on anime shows was a great motivation to start writing regularly. 

Because of that decision, my #1 priority this past season was posting as close to an episode release as possible. It was tough–I really admire all of you guys who’ve been at this for much longer than I have–and I wish I could have spent more time on a lot of the posts, but it was overall really enjoyable. It got easier over time, definitely.

And, well, I got to talk to a lot of people! That was a huge plus, since I’d dabbled in anime reviewing before but was usually quiet. I hardly ever posted on forums even though folks were friendly. Now, I think I might comment a bit too much.

Statistics

thebeeofmysoul

The bee of my soul.

Here are some quick stats, for those of you who are interested.

  • Over 50 followers! Wowza. I didn’t expect this many, since I honestly didn’t have much aside from the episode-by-episode reviews and award nomination posts.
  • Over 4,100 views total, with the three most popular posts unsurprisingly coming from Yuri!!! On Ice: episode 2 (470 views), episode 1 (325 views), and episode 3 (173 views), in that order. For comparison, my most viewed posts from the other series I covered were Overly Honest Reactions to Magical Girl Raising Project Episode 6 (147 views) and Nanbaka Episode 2 Review (83 views).
  • Over 1,800 visitors – I realize a lot of these and the following are repeats, but I’m still very happy. Thanks so much for coming back!
  • Over 270 comments
  • Over 240 likes

Shout-outs!

Shout-out to some of my blogger buddies! Be sure to check out all of them.

Anime Girls NYC – She seems to go on a lot of adventures to many different places, and it’s fun to see what she’s up to! I also look forward to her Fan Art Friday every week.

One of my favorite posts: FAN ART FRIDAY 2016 RECAP!!!!!

Artemis – Artemis’s posts are in-depth, funny, and elegant, whether she’s “highly suggesting” that her formerly non-anime-watching friend watch anime, or making lists about anime or other things related to Japan. She’s also very nice to talk to.

One of my favorite posts: Watson Watches: retro wrap-up party

avathenerd – Super sweet and kind, Ava tackles a large range of topics in books or anime. She always has interesting answers to tags and challenges, and her designs are lovely. I’m not sure if I told her, but she also really helped me out with some flyers I had to design recently! Thanks for introducing me to Canva!

One of my favorite posts: Favourite Quotes – I’ll Give You the Sun

Cat – We bonded over Yuri!!! On Ice together, and her cheeriness is infectious. She helped me become so much more excited about a show that I already really loved. On her blog, she covers an extensive range of games, and she’s learning many different languages (also by playing games!). Her excitement and passion are apparent in pretty much all of her posts.

One of my favorite posts: You Gotta Solve Your Own Murder in Ghost Trick – Phantom Detective

edsamac – Witty and a thinker. May have been forced out of hiding because I tagged him in a post a while back (sorrry). Ed’s posts are incredibly insightful and beautiful reads, often relating anime to the human experience. This past season, he’s written series reviews, weekly thoughts on anime, and even essays on headphones in anime.

One of my favorite posts: Reveries and the search for hope

Karandi – Thought-provoking and a trooper who covers an incredible range of shows (with the occasional game or movie in between), Karandi is someone whom I admire quite a bit. She posts concise and incisive episode-by-episode reviews, as well as thought-provoking series reviews and weekly features.

One of my favorite posts: Friday’s Feature: The Cycle of Love and Hate for an Anime

Misu – Sassy and awesome, Misu is really “taking [her] magic and running with it.” She’s currently writing her second thesis on magical girls, and her blog covers everything about them: all sorts of magical girl news from the past week, insights on Magical Girl Raising Project, and even cosplay. She’s got it all, and needs more followers. So be sure to check her blog out!

One of my favorite posts: MahoIku – Is This Truly a Magical Girl Anime?

Nanaya – The guru of Magical Girl Raising Project. Nanaya came by to chat every week about the light novel versus the anime, which really helped me to appreciate the nuances within the series. Our conversations were one of the highlights of the season. Hope to see you around!

Prattle – Prattle tells you how it is. She’s demonstrated her aptitude for all sorts of reviews, whether it’s a more involved discussion or a singular criticism about a show. Recently, she’s been posting about how psychology relates to anime (re)viewing. Aside from her interesting posts, she’s really wonderful, and it’s not just because she also loves chocolate milk!

One of my favorite posts: Girlish

remyfool – My first follower and the person I keep bugging the most! Remy’s great to talk to–funny and polite–and we tend to get into very long conversations. You can tell that he really cares about his blog. He’s put a lot of work put into his episode reviews, which are concise, relatable, and full of pertinent screenshots. He’ll also point out things you definitely missed, and has again and again demonstrated his ambition to make quality posts about everything yuri.

One of my favorite posts: Mahou Shoujo Ikusei Keikaku – Anime Series Review

Plans for Next Season

glassesshine

Get ready.

I am happy (and also a little sad) to announce that I will be blogging for my school science magazine from January to April. I also didn’t plan ahead and signed up for a two-month comedy writing class on a whim, so I have committed to at least two other writing projects over the next few months. These will take up a lot of time, but I plan to follow 1-2 series episode-by-episode, most likely 1. Right now, I am eyeing Little Witch AcademiaKobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon, and KonoSuba 2.

I have decided to stop reviewing Nanbaka regularly, but will continue watching it. The content in my reviews for the show became too redundant for my taste, with one or two exceptions. I do think I will be posting on the series still, but not as frequently–and/or without as much analysis, unless something significantly changes in the coming season.

I would also like to spend more time writing before I hit “Publish.” The articles I enjoyed writing the most this past season were Yuri!!! On Ice Episode 2: An Analysis of Opposites and Navigating Through Magical Girl Raising Project (Eps. 1-8).  I definitely spent more time on these posts than others, but I think the main reason they worked was because I could actually think of things to say. On another note, I also tried to cram too much into some of my posts, which made a few weeks pretty stressful. I’d like to try experimenting more with themed posts–maybe this way, I can watch even more series without feeling pressured by a deadline.

Speaking of series, I’d like to write series reviews. I actually prefer doing them over episode reviews since there’s a lot less fluctuation in what you end up saying, but haven’t taken the time to post them on the blog. In the future, I may also do series reviews for shows I’d already covered in weekly reviews.

There are also other things I’m thinking of trying out, but I feel like I am already promising way too much with the above points. Be on the lookout for some surprise content posts!

19 thoughts on “3 Month Anniversary, 50+ Followers, and Plans for the Coming Season

  1. edsamac says:

    Aww, thanks for the love, Alane. πŸ™‚ Yes, you indeed pulled me out of hiding, but it was very much appreciated! πŸ˜€

    Congratulations on everything you’ve achieved on your blog in such a short amount of time! I’d like to see more of your full series reviews, too. Weekly entries really DO wind up becoming a little redundant, which is why I settled for weekly “thoughts”.

    Anyway, Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alane says:

      My pleasure πŸ˜€ and yay!

      Thank you. Glad to know it wasn’t just me. I’ll try to see if there’s a balance I can strike this time around. Happy New Year to you, too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anime_Girls_NYC says:

    3 months and still going strong that’s good. Also, I feel like a lot of bloggers posts on Yuri on Ice had a lot of views and comments. Hahaha it was everywhere and you can’t help but comment on the posts haha. And thanks so much for the shoutout. I look forward to many more from you πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. avathenerd says:

    Congratulations, Alane! Your blog truly deserves all the love coming its way.
    Thanks so much for your kind words. I’m glad I could be of your help! Canva is a superb site. πŸ™‚
    Your reviews are really fun to read, though i’m still baffled as to how you’re able to stay on schedule. xD
    Looking forward to more awesome posts!
    Also, Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alane says:

      Thanks, Ava πŸ™‚

      Yea, it realllly saved me. I am not a born designer and had been trying to use Illustrator to no avail.

      Teehee, thanks xD. I definitely cut back on some of the reviews toward the end to try to keep on track

      Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. remyfool says:

    Thanks for the love and shout-out, Alane. It’s good that you comment often! We need more Alane!

    I think it’s awesome that you’re going to be blogging for your school science magazine! Your plans for 2017 all sound so exciting! All three shows look great to me and I’m looking forward to your series review posts as well as your thematic posts.

    Woo 2017! Woo Alane!!! c:

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alane says:

      Thank you!! c: I’ll be croppin’ up and bein’ all like, hello person some more during next year xD.

      Yea, I’m really excited ;D . I get to talk about weird things I don’t really understand. The first one will be about magic tricks BECAUSE I CAN

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to your stuff too! AND DOING THIS: +_+ “hmmm.” I’ll continue to experiment more and more c:

      Yay 2017!

      Like

      • remyfool says:

        Gangsta artsy Alane coming throughhhh!

        Magic tricks is a nice topic! I dig it!

        Haaah we’ll see. My life is out of controllll. Go Alane go!
        Experimental Alane the scientist! c:
        Wooo new year!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Cat says:

    OMG ALANE, you made so choked up with all those nice things about me aaah /gross sobbing at you
    You’re so amazing, publishing every day a post is really hard, I tried and could not make it, so you have all my respect bb!
    I’m excited for you for getting that school magazine gig but at the same time… i don’t want you be gone from here /soft chihuahua tears paw at you
    YAAS, GIVE ME SERIES REVIEWS /grubby hands in your face Where they at?! xD~
    OOOH, I LOVE SURPRISES!
    2017 is gonna be a great year, starting with your posts on my reader <333
    i also relate to what you said about struggling to find things to say about certain things. That happens to me all the time when i'm making posts, so you saying you can still feel my passion and energy on them makes me feel so good. Tho do beware, compliments are sin to me, I might start getting a big head and strut about like a peacock ohohohoho xD
    I'm also preparing new things for this year, for the blog and outside the blog but that I will also be putting in the blog, so yaaay at new things!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alane says:

      Aww thanks, Cat! I really love your posts and comments c: . I don’t know if I could post nearly as frequently as you about awesome games & language learning, so right back at you!

      Thank yooo I’ll still be around ;-; I’LL BE AROUND mmmrrrfff

      THE SERIES REVIEWS ARE THERE DON’T WORRY *sneaks offff*

      YAY!

      I’m really excited for your stuff πŸ˜€ *pokeeee*

      Like

      • Cat says:

        Chokes hard at all your words
        😭😭😭
        Feels me with warmth that you love my comments, I put a lot of effort in them, as well as on my posts ;v;
        Pfft, not nearly as frequent as you do, what? I can’t watch that much anime or process it, and you always analyze and see through them so well hnng /chucks love at you ( ˘ ³˘)❀( ˘ ³˘)❀
        YOU BETTER BE AROUND GROSS SOBS AT U
        .
        I.
        😳😳😳
        Thanks, bb! 😳😳 /pokes back

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

